Frances is Co-Chair of the Sorrell Foundation which works with young people to inspire their creativity and give them pathways to further and higher education, and careers in the creative industries. In 2009, the Foundation piloted The National Art & Design Saturday Club.  HCA was one of the first colleges in the country to be involved, and now offers a thriving Saturday Arts Club, thanks to the support and endorsement of the Sorrell Foundation.

Frances is a Visiting Professor at the University of the Arts, London, and an Honorary Fellow of both University College Falmouth and  the Royal Institute of British Architects.  In 2010 she was presented with an Honorary Doctorate from the Open University for an `Exceptional Contribution to Education and Culture’.

Previously, Frances was co-founder and co-chair of Newell and Sorrell, which was one of Europe’s biggest and most successful design and identity businesses.  As creative director, Frances led the company to over a hundred awards for creativity and effectiveness.

Her previous appointments include: Member of the British Council Design Advisory Group; Member of the DfES School Design Advisory Council; Trustee of Mencap; Member of the NHS London Design Advisory Group; Advisory Board Member of the National Photography, Film and Television Museum; Member of the Qualification and Curriculum Authority Arts Advisory Group; Director of the Royal Academy Enterprise Board; Director of the National Institute of Employment Studies; Member of the Affairs & Awards Committee of City & Guilds and its Future 100 Committee; Chair of the Interbrand Foundation.