Governance and Policy

Our Governors represent a cross-section of the creative, educational, media, business and financial sectors. The skills and experience our Governors bring is invaluable to the College.

In this section you can explore the college’s information regarding our governance and policy. Please use the left-hand links to find out more about being a Governor, our key policies and our most recent Board and sub-committee meetings.

Board and Committee dates 2020-2021
Board and Committee dates 2021-2022

The Board also includes Governors who represent staff and students.

Our Board of Governors:

Members of Committees:

Audit Committee

Jennette Arnold (Chair)
Mike Rookes (Co-opted Member)
Judy Balderson (Co-opted Member)
Joe Hedges
Kay Sandford-Beal

Search and Governance Committee

Tim Newsholme (Chair)
Abigail Appleton
Professor Robin Baker
Mervyn Jones
Katie Seekings

Finance and General Purposes Committee

Abigail Appleton
Professor Robin Baker
Mervyn Jones
Scott Rolfe (Co-opted Member)
Peta Darnley
Clive Hodgeman

Academic Quality and Standards (FE) Committee

Kate Murrie (Chair)
John Nicol
Abigail Appleton
Katie Seekings
Jennette Arnold
Victor Barratt (Student Governor FE)
Andrew Jones (Student Governor FE)

Academic Quality and Standards (HE) Committee

Katie Seekings (Chair)
Abigail Appleton
Tim Newsholme
Hannah Jones

The Board of Governors has adopted the AoC Code of Good Governance.

The Corporation is responsible for oversight of the College. In general terms, it is responsible for the quality of service that the College offers to learners and the local community, as well as the College’s strategic direction, financial health and ensuring it complies to general law relating to employment, equality and diversity, health and safety, safeguarding and Prevent and GDPR.

These pages provide information and details about the Corporation’s role, including minutes of meetings, and a range of other information about the Corporation, its Committees and Governors. Further details, such as, the Governors’ register of interests, are available on request.

The Corporation is the College’s governing body and it meets regularly during the year to consider strategic developments and monitor the College’s performance.

If you would like any specific information relating to governance arrangements at Hereford College of Arts please contact Linda Watkins, Clerk to the Governors, by telephone on 01432 379351, or by emailing