David has a BSc (Hons) and DPS in Ergonomics from Loughborough University, and a PhD from the University of Plymouth in 1997 in Design History.

Until July 2023 he was Dean of the School of Humanities and Creative Arts at the University of Hertfordshire’s branch campus in Cairo, Egypt (UH-GAF). From 2017 -21, Executive Dean of the School of Digital, Technologies and Arts at Staffordshire University, and Professor of Design. He was previously Head of the School of Design and Art, and Professor of Design, at Curtin University in Perth, Western Australia; Head of Falmouth University’s Graduate School; and Deputy Executive Dean of the Faculty of Creative Industries and Business at Unitec in New Zealand, following academic posts in the UK and Ireland.

Research and practice has included product and vehicle design (including bus, train, fire-engine and military vehicle projects), ergonomics and user-centred design, user aspects of smart energy grids, electronic products, computer games, creative entrepreneurship, and craft metalwork – including four University ceremonial maces. He also ran his own design and manufacturing business for five years. He has been a magazine editor, editorial board member, and published in book and journal form across design and ergonomics related subjects, including design pedagogy, craft processes, vehicle design, fashion business, public art, and user experience design.

Invited keynote presentations at conferences in China, South Korea and the UK have covered Smart Energy Grids, ceramics industry training and pedagogy, the design of train interiors, sustainable design, and user experience design.

He has managed seven curated art galleries, been a Trustee and Director of several creative and regeneration-linked organisations and charities, including The Clay Foundation, Stoke Creates, John Curtin Gallery (Perth WA), Channel Corridor AIF Board, Medway Enterprise Gateway, Folkestone Creative Foundation, and the Devon Guild of Craftsmen. He has been a visiting lecturer at universities in Ireland, UK, China, Taiwan, Egypt, USA, South Korea, Italy, Germany, Australia, and New Zealand.