Governance & Policy

Our Board of Governors steers the activities of the College.

Please use the right-hand links to find out more about being a Governor, our key policies and procedures and our most recent Board and sub-committee meetings.


Our Governors represent a cross-section of the creative, educational, media, business and financial sectors.  The skills and experience our Governors bring is invaluable to the College. The Board also includes Governors who represent staff and students:

Our Board of Governors:

Professor Robin Baker (Independent Member)
Dr Elizabeth Halford (Independent Member)
Mervyn Jones (Chair of Governors)
Alison McLean (Vice Chair)
Tim Newsholme (Independent Member)
John Nicol (Independent Member and Designated Safeguarding Governor)
Scott Rolfe (Independent Member)
Mike Rookes (Independent Member)
Kay Sandford-Beal (Independent Member)
Katie Seekings (Independent Member)
Neil Hadfield (Staff Governor nominated by HE staff)
Stevie Callender (Staff Governor nominated by FE Staff)

Hannah Jones (Student Governor FE)
Ferel Smith (Student Governor HE)

Abigail Appleton (Principal and Chief Executive)

Graham Briscoe (Co-opted Member Audit Committee)
Kate Murrie (Co-opted Member Academic Quality and Standards Committee)


Members of Committees

Audit Committee
Mike Rookes (Chair)
Dr Elizabeth Halford
Alison McLean
Katie Seekings
Graham Briscoe (Co-opted Member)

Search and Governance Committee

Tim Newsholme (Chair)
Abigail Appleton
Professor Daniel Howard
Mervyn Jones
Alison McLean
Katie Seekings

Finance and General Purposes Committee
Abigail Appleton
Professor Robin Baker
Mervyn Jones
Scott Rolfe
Kay Sandford-Beal
Lynn Forrester-Walker (Co-opted Member)

Academic Quality and Standards (FE) Committee
John Nicol (Chair)
Abigail Appleton
Tim Newsholme
Katie Seekings
Kate Murrie (Co-opted)

Academic Quality and Standards (HE) Committee
Dr Elizabeth Halford (Chair)
Abigail Appleton
Alison McLean
Mike Rookes

The Board of Governors has adopted the AoC Code of Good Governance.  

If you would like any specific information relating to governance arrangements at Hereford College of Arts please contact Linda Watkins, Clerk to the Governors, by telephone on 01432 379351, or by emailing